About Us

Pesticides are regulated in Ireland by three closely linked divisions of the Department of Agriculture, Food & the Marine (DAFM).  These Divisions are the Pesticide Controls Division (PCD) and the Pesticide Registration Division (PRD), collectively known as the Pesticide Registration & Controls Divisions (PRCD) and the Pesticide Control Laboratory (PCL).  Around 48 scientific, policy and support staff are employed in the Divisions based at the Backweston Campus, in Celbridge, County Kildare, Ireland.  Our primary aim is to ensure the safe use of pesticides to protect the health of people, wildlife and the environment.

What are our responsibilities?

About Pesticides

About the Approval Process

The Law Relating to Pesticides

Expert Units